The Beauty of the Uprising

I cried yesterday.  I sat in a little sandwich shop having lunch with my family in Charleston, SC, and I looked at a television screen and found myself weeping. My three year old excitedly asked if the Gamecocks were about to play when he saw my stare and the large crowds.

As I responded no, it hit me- my son saw me moved and assumed it was over sports! I’ve clearly been doing something wrong.

Because of various views backed by the marches (I’m not getting into it because those causes and opinions are not where my focus lies today), I chose to ignore yesterday and treat things as a normal day. I had no place in them but I was thankful to see we seem to be alive and awake again as humans. I was thankful because in that moment, watching my babies eat lunch, God said ‘STOP.’

15 I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

-Rev 3:15-16

That verse has come crashing over me since that moment. Stop pretending that you are okay and that everyone is living to the fullest and it will all be wonderful because it can never be on this Earth. I watched these women and men passionately crying out for their causes, for their voices, and I had chosen to go appliance shopping instead of following my own convictions and spending that time raising my hands in praise and prayer to the One over all creation; prayer that He would take it all into His hands and reign over us; that we would drop our causes and turn to the cross, because through Him all will be properly positioned.

In that moment, God said, “You have spent so long dancing  within the lines of earthly love and social acceptance that you believe you’ve gone as far as you can in this, but I’ve equipped you and so many believers for more and it is time that you answer the call.

The beauty of the palpable energy in the air right now is this: we cannot sit on the shore safely from the waves any longer. No matter you’re feeling, your occupation, your upbringing, it is nearly impossible to be lukewarm.

Silence in this moment puts everything at risk.  As beautiful women of God, if there was ever a time to rise up in fierce faith, the time is now.  We must put on those fabulous gowns of armor (I mean, a gown just sounds so much more comfortable for a fight, being able to tie it up or spin around in it) and go out into our own battlefields. Our children and the world’s knowledge of our faith depends on it.

I know now just how unpopular my thoughts may seem, but I no longer am afraid.  For the sake of my relationships that may be sacrificed, I want them to know I Love them enough to risk everything to tell you about my God and the beautiful peace that surpasses all understanding. While the world is full of fear, confusion and anger, He is steadfast and loving and reminds us that these moments are barely noticeable in the span of eternity.

And-the-peace-of-God-which-transcends-all-understanding-will-guard-your-hearts-and-your-minds-in-Christ-Jesus.jpg

I believe in the Bible and everything in it. I unapologetically accept it and know that in doing so, I am condemning myself for my sin.  I also know that redemption is available to all who believe, and if I don’t speak now about my faith while the world is crying out, I don’t know what it would take for me to do so, and then I would truly be lukewarm.

We are all down in the tranches battling for our causes, when we only need to turn our eyes upward to the cross.

Leave a Reply

