A Place for Us

We built a house, and it was an adventure.  You have to pick so much crap, and it was wonderful!  I know I’m weird.  I spent a few years feeling like a shallow loser for liking pretty things, but truly I get into this stuff.  We’ve moved five times in seven years, and it’s really the nomadic spirit of our marriage. E left home at 18 with the military and has been everywhere.  I began asking for travel as gifts in my teens, took my first major trip without them or a field trip group at 16, left the country without my parents for the first time at 17, and couldn’t get enough.

When we moved into our first place together just after our first anniversary- yes, you read that right.  We spent our dating life and first year of marriage in separate countries. We moved in together to furniture E had bought but placed straight into storage where it sat for years unused.  Those first few years, we loved our homes, and loved to fill them with life entertaining and life.  They were fun investments, and they each served their purpose for that period in our lives.

The last house, we lived in a year and a half, had a baby and walked through the toughest time we’ve had as a married couple.  God was changing us for the better, but in that sweet little beautiful home, I made no changes.  The same grey from the day we closed on it still adorned the walls the day we sold it, and it’s open floor plan, beautiful light and one story layout with oaks served as our hideaway to retreat from everything the world was throwing at us.  Beautiful memories happened there as our babies grew brighter and funnier every day, but it’s purpose was for that time.

As our family is growing and we emerged from the cocoon of that period, God called us out to a new place, and in that a new part of His plan. We’re in a new town, more separated from what we knew.  We have a new church community and now I’m home more to focus on these little people and whatever God calls me to do.

People always think we’re nuts for all these moves, and I’ve heard plenty of jokes about our nomadic ways, and I don’t really disagree, lol. God is beginning to reveal the whys of it all, though, and I think sometimes we don’t realize how our physical locations can impact everything about us.  It wasn’t the houses themselves that mattered, but it was being in the appropriate space for our needs and hearing His voice properly in that time.

I’ve been spending time in Genesis and Abraham’s story and my goodness did he ever have a place for each time in life.  God called him out and to the places his family needed to be.  Look at how his life was multiplied and carried on because of his obedience.

Now people want to know things like what this house looks like and how we love being so far away from everything we know, and truthfully, it’s wonderful.  I haven’t really thought about sharing it, because it hadn’t occurred to me. It hadn’t occurred to me, because we’ve been more focused on our little crew without the distractions we had built up.  I can feel the spirit pulling me home when it’s time and calling me to serve where I am needed and no more- nothing to leave my people distraught or without as we go through a critical time of growth.

This space is us, it’s the roots of where we will help our babes feel safe and make memories with their friends. We are working every day to cast aside anything that will give them from completely fulfilling their God-given stories and have our eyes open that there is much in this world coming up against us, but that there are also beautiful stories in this world and, as a dear friend says, ‘the good news out there is really good.’

I hope you’re taking the time to be the good news you were created to be.  I hope I am too, for that matter 😉

 

Leave a Reply

